Vegan MoFo Day 18: Pumpkin Swirl Brownies Veganized

Before I became a vegan I would purchase every Betty Crocker Fall Baking issue. It was one of the reasons why I looked forward to Autumn because I couldn’t wait to fire up my oven and start baking all the yummy Fall treats the issue offered. Last year, as a new vegan, I decided that I would purchase the book anyway and challenge myself with the task of veganizing some of the recipes in it.

The Pumpkin Swirl Brownies  was one of the first recipes in the book that caught my eye, so I got to work in veganizing it. I am pretty happy with the end result, but will continue to work on improving this recipe because I feel that it can be perfected.

Vegan Pumpkin Swirl Brownies

Adapted from the Betty Crocker Fall Baking Issue 2010

 Brownie Batter:

1 ½ Cups All-Purpose Flour

1/3 Cup Plus 2 Tablespoons Cocoa Powder

½ Teaspoon Baking Powder

½ Teaspoon Sea Salt

1 Cup Brown Sugar

½ Cup Sucanat or Sugar

1 Teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract

½ Cup Plus 4 Tablespoons Margarine

¼ Cup Plus 2 Tablespoons Pureed Silken Tofu

 

Pumpkin Filling:

6 Tablespoons Non-Dairy Cream Cheese, Softened

½ Cup Pumpkin Puree

3 Tablespoons Pureed Silken Tofu

3 Tablespoons Brown Sugar

1 Teaspoon Cinnamon

¼ Teaspoon Ground Nutmeg

 Preheat oven to 350 ͦ F and lightly grease an 8-in x 8-in square pan.

Using a mixer beat together the cream cheese, pumpkin puree, pureed tofu, brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg until well combined and smooth and set aside.

Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and sea salt in a medium bowl, set aside. Using a mixer, cream together the margarine, brown sugar, sucanat or sugar, vanilla extract and the silken tofu until light and fluffy. In three batches, add in the flour and cocoa mixture and mix until combined.

Pour ¾ of the batter into prepared pan and smooth out the batter using a spatula. The batter is going to be really thick and you may have a hard time spreading the batter out. One method I have used is to spray your spatula with some cooking spray so the batter is easier to spread.

Pour the pumpkin mixture over the brownie batter and then pour the remaining brownie batter on top. Using a butter knife, make swirls in the batter.

Bake brownies for 20 to 25 minutes at 350 ͦ F. Allow the brownies to cool completely before serving.

 

Nutrition Facts

 

16 Servings

Amount Per Serving
  Calories 180.4
  Total Fat 5.2 g
      Saturated Fat 1.3 g
      Polyunsaturated Fat 1.3 g
      Monounsaturated Fat 1.2 g
  Cholesterol 0.0 mg
  Sodium 245.4 mg
  Potassium 116.7 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
      Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
      Sugars 15.9 g
  Protein 50.4 g

 

18 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan MoFo

18 responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 18: Pumpkin Swirl Brownies Veganized

  1. These look incredible! Great recipe.

  2. They look so pretty, I love the swirls of orange, they really do look autumn-y!

  3. Oh wow, those look amazing. I think I’ve finally decided what to do with the jar of pumpkin in my cupboard.

  4. They look so moist and delicious!!!

  5. Those look like they have the perfect amount of fudginess! I’m enamored.

  6. Well, these look amazing!

  7. kala

    Do I need to add tofu?

Leave a Reply

