Vegan MoFo Day 5: Kabocha Squash Bread

It’s day five of Vegan Month of Food and I am having so much fun participating! Vegan MoFo has motivated me to show my blog some love and come up with different and creative ideas to post. I’ve been having fun taking pictures of my recipes using my sister’s Nikon camera that she has so generously let me borrow and I have another Kabocha Squash recipe today. Did I mention that I am obsessed with Kabocha Squash? I know that I posted a recipe using it yesterday, but I bought a bunch of them a few days ago when I was at the International Market near my house because they were on sale for 99 cents a pound. Can’t go wrong with a price like that!

I have been playing around with the notion of coming up with a recipe for a Kabocha Squash quick bread, but never got around to it until today. I wasn’t sure how it was going to turn out, but I am really happy with the end result!

Kabocha Squash Bread

Ingredients:

1 Cup Pureed Kabocha Squash

1 Cup All-Purpose Flour plus 2 Tablespoons

1/2 Cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour

2 Teaspoons Baking Powder

½ Teaspoon Baking Soda

¾ Teaspoon Sea Salt

3 Tablespoons Chopped Crystalized Ginger, Divided

1 Cup Sugar

1/3 Cup Brown Sugar

½ Teaspoon Ground Ginger

1 ½  Teaspoon Cinnamon

1/3 Cup Canola Oil

1/3 Cup Non-Dairy Milk

Preheat oven to 350 ͦF and lightly grease a 9-inch x 5-inch loaf pan.

In a medium bowl, mix together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, sea salt and 2 tablespoons of the crystalized ginger. In a small bowl, whisk together the kabocha squash puree, sugars, oil, non-dairy milk, ground ginger and cinnamon until well combined. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and whisk together until just combined. Do not over mix. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan and sprinkle remaining tablespoon of crystalized ginger over the top. Bake at 350 ͦF for 40 to 50 minutes.

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan MoFo

4 responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 5: Kabocha Squash Bread

  1. I love when a recipe you’re working out turns out brilliantly, this bread looks lovely!

  2. There are so many beautiful squashes in the market this time of year… but I never know what to do with them! Thanks for the perfect recipe/idea

Leave a Reply

