Vegan MoFo Day 3: Vegan Crockpot Butternut Squash Chili

I love Autumn and whenever this time of year rolls around I become excited about the leaves changing color, the cooler temperatures and all the flavors that are associated with the season! I also love that it gives me the opportunity to break out my crockpot. I feel bad for my little crockpot because it is under utilized during the Summer due to our busy traveling schedule, but I definitely make up for it during the Autumn and Winter months. Here in Virginia it seems as though we have skipped Autumn all together and gone straight to Winter, so what better way to beat the chill then with a big, warm bowl of chili. This Vegan Crockpot Butternut Squash Chili is a good way to take advantage of all the squash that is currently in season. Oh and it is also National Chili Month, so let’s celebrate it with this yummy chili!

 

I like my chili on the thick side, but you can add as liquid as you like to get the consistency you want. You might need to adjust the spices if you do that though.

Vegan Crockpot Butternut Squash Chili

Ingredients:

1 Butternut Squash, Peeled, Seeded and Chopped

1 15 Ounce Can of Black Beans, Drained and Rinsed

1 15 Ounce Can of Red Kidney Beans, Drained and Rinsed

1 14.5 Ounce Can of Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes, do not drain

1 Cup Frozen Corn Kernels

2 Tablespoons Tomato Paste

¼ Cup Cilantro, Chopped

1 Medium Sweet Onion, Diced Small

1 Red Bell Pepper, Seeded and Diced

3 Garlic Cloves, Minced

1 ½ Tablespoons Chili Powder, or more depending on how hot you like it

2 Teaspoons Cumin

1 Teaspoon Smoked Paprika

1 Cup Water or more depending on how thick you like your chili

Salt and Pepper to taste

 

Place all ingredients into a crockpot and set temperature to low. Let chili cook for 6 to 8 hours on low or until the butternut squash is tender. I usually stir the chili every once in a while during the cooking process. This recipe freezes really well.

13 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan MoFo

13 responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 3: Vegan Crockpot Butternut Squash Chili

  1. I was just complaining to my boyfriend how terrible it is that we don’t own a crockpot (partly because I’m making chili this weekend). I mean, is there anything better than not having to tend to a pot on the stove all day? Oof, I must get one SOON!

    PS: I love the sound of this chili – and it looks absolutely delicious

  2. Cindy

    I’m pretty sure I am going to have to make this recipe over the month! I’m excited to find a unique use for my butternut squash.

  3. I have access to a crockpot, but I’ve never used it. This seems like a good reason though, butternut chili sounds amazing.

    • Oh you should definitely break it out! Once you’ve used it and see how convenient it is, you will want to use it all the time! I love how it makes life so much easier.

  4. I love my cooking up squash in my crock pot (and I’m cuckoo for chili) Love your recipe!

  5. Pingback: leftovers and eating out « StarCityVegan

  6. Pingback: double batch delight « StarCityVegan

  7. Made this today and it is A-MAZE-ING! This recipe will be used again an again. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

