Welcome to my blog!

Hello and welcome to my blog, The French Fry Conundrum! If you are wondering how I came up with the name, it stems from my toddler daughter’s love of French fries and…well French fries. Besides chocolate soymilk she would only really consume French fries, so I wanted to come up with recipes that she would like and would be willing to eat in place of French fries. Here I will share some of her favorite kid-friendly recipes, but also share my love of baking and cake decorating. Although I do like for me and my family to eat healthy, not all of the recipes I feature here on my blog could be considered healthy because I have a tremendous sweet tooth!  What I can say is that everything featured on this blog will be vegan. Whether it be recipes or food I eat while I’m out and about, everything will be free of any animal products.

I have been a vegan for almost two years now and I want to give a little background as to why I decided to give up animal products. Growing up I never really liked to eat meat and had always toyed with the notion of giving up meat, but felt that it would be abnormal to do so. Everyone tells you that you can’t get enough protein if you do not eat meat or that you will be deficient in nutrients. Fearing that these things were true I kept eating meat, but about 11 years I ago I gave up pork after having to dissect a baby pig in my BIO 101 course. That was the first step towards becoming a vegetarian. Well you are probably wondering why it took me so long to go completely veg. Right before my daughter’s first birthday we were disappointed to discover that she had allergies to dairy, eggs and possibly seafood and peanuts. This put me into panic mode because I could not imagine not having a cake for her during her first birthday party, but not only that these new allergies meant that I had to change my diet as well because I was still nursing her. I decided to do some research about baking a cake without eggs and dairy, but I could not fathom the thought of a cake possibly tasting good without those things in it. Well I ended up using a dairy free cake mix for her cake that did not turn out so well and that got me thinking that cutting out dairy and eggs was going to be a lot harder on me than it would be on her.

Time went on and I was in complete denial about my daughter’s food allergies because she had never had a reaction to anything before, so I fed her anything and everything. I know what you are thinking, “What an irresponsible mother”, but the only reason why we found out that she had these allergies is because I was having her tested for environmental allergies because she seemed to have  colds all the time and I thought it had to do with maybe the pets that were at the home daycare she went to. The allergist decided to test her for everything and that is how we found out. Well one day she was eating some yogurt melts and her mouth broke out in hives and so that led us to another allergist that confirmed what the previous allergist had, minus the seafood and peanut allergies. I then decided to take her food allergies seriously and proceeded to do extensive research into what causes food allergies and how to prepare foods without dairy and eggs. In doing research I was led to many websites including this one, that led me to research going vegan. I gave up dairy and eggs first because I had to and one day  I decided to give up meat as well. From that day on I didn’t look back and I can honestly say that I do not miss eating meat at all.

Being vegan to me was very exciting and I couldn’t wait to veganize all of my favorite recipes and buy cookbooks that would help the transition into being veg easier. The first cookbook I purchased at a Borders down in Tampa, Florida while on vacation was Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and this cookbook literally changed my life! It showed me that cakes could taste delicious and opened my taste buds up to so many different flavors. This cookbook made the transition so much easier. Since buying this cookbook I have filled  my cookbook library with a plethora of different vegan cookbooks and have become some what addicted to purchasing vegan cookbooks!

I would not say that I am an animal activist because I am a vegan, but I do care deeply for animals and that is one of the reasons why I choose not to eat them and also because I think it is healthier not to. This lifestyle has made me think about things more deeply, like how the dairy industry gets dairy cows to produce their milk. I’m not one to force my views onto people, for example my husband is not a vegan or even a vegetarian and has no plans on becoming one, but it is not one of my goals to try and get him to be one. Do I make him eat vegan sometimes? Why yes I do because there are some days that I do not feel like making two separate meals and he is understanding about it, so I do not want people who are not vegan or vegetarian to feel that my blog is meant for only people who are. Maybe you and your family observe Meatless Mondays or you have a child that has food allergies to eggs and dairy and are looking for some recipes that they can enjoy or maybe you are an omnivore who enjoys eating a vegan meal every once in a while, I want everyone to be able to enjoy visitng my blog.

Now that I have talked your eyes off, I wanted to say again welcome and thank you for visiting my blog!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Welcome to my blog!

  1. Maria Fair

    Um! Awesome blog! And I am so very proud of who you are!

Leave a Reply

