Vegan MoFo Day 26: Vegan Pumpkin Fudge-Take 2: Sweet Success!

I’m so excited and happy to report that I was able to successfully veganize a pumpkin fudge recipe! I had been so disappointed last week when the recipe had not turned out for my first attempt , but I think it really had something to do with my candy thermometer being broken.

I have never made fudge before, so making it for the first time while trying to veganize it was an undertaking. I thought it turned out deliciously and when my daughter took the first bite of hers she went “Mmmmm” and rubbed her tummy, so that made me happy.

 

Here is a picture of the Ricemellow Creme and Vegan White Chocolate that I used. My sister’s job sent her to Portland, Oregon for a week and when she was out there she picked me up a bunch of these vegan white chocolate packages from Food Fight! Grocery. If you need some vegan white chocolate you can order it direct from them online.

 

Vegan Pumpkin Fudge

Veganized from this recipe.

2 Cups Sugar (I use Evaporated Cane Juice)

1 Cup Brown Sugar

2 Tablespoons Brown Rice Syrup

¾ Cup Pumpkin Puree

2/3 Cup Coconut Creamer

¾ Cup Margarine

2 Teaspoons Cinnamon

½ Teaspoon Ground Ginger

¼ Teaspoon Ground Nutmeg

¼ Teaspoon Ground Cloves

¼ Teaspoon Allspice

1 Teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract

1 10oz Package of Vegan White Chocolate

7oz Ricemellow Crème

*You will also need a candy thermometer*

 

Line an 8 x 8-inch glass pan with parchment paper and lightly spray with cooking spray.

In a large sauce pot over medium-high heat, mix together the sugars, pumpkin puree, margarine, brown rice syrup, coconut creamer and all of the spices using a wire whisk. Whisking constantly, bring mixture to a boil and continue to whisk the mixture until the candy thermometer reaches the soft ball stage.

Once the mixture has reached the soft ball stage you will know it is ready because the mixture will have thickened quite a bit. Turn off the burner and whisk in the last three ingredients. If the white chocolate seizes up when you add it to the mixture just turn the burner on again and whisk until the mixture has melted again.

Pour the mixture into the prepared pan and allow it to set before cutting it. Mine took about an hour to set, but it could take up to a couple of hours.

Store the fudge in the refrigerator to keep it fresh.

12 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan MoFo

12 responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 26: Vegan Pumpkin Fudge-Take 2: Sweet Success!

  1. This is such an awesome idea! That fudge looks so good!

  2. OMG that looks absolutely sinful. I would eat the whole batch and you’d find me comatose in a corner!!

    • That is exactly how I am feeling right now, Angela! It is so sweet and delicious, but I know so bad for me at the same time. I’m getting ready to give the rest of it away because I can’t stop eating it.

  3. That really does look good, congrats on perfecting your recipe!

  4. Perseverence paid off with some good lookin’ fudge there!!! Yay.

  5. Wow this is crazy awesome! I would not have thought that you could veganize fudge…but honestly I wouldn’t be able to tell the difference between this and non-vegan fudge!

Leave a Reply

