Vegan MoFo Day 20: Pumpkin Cranberry Scones

As you can tell I really love pumpkin, but I also love scones. I normally make these scones with just cranberries and orange, but recently experiemented with adding pumpkin. Wow was I surprised! I love how the combination of the cranberries and orange pair well with the pumpkin to make the perfect Fall breakfast treat.

 

Pumpkin Cranberry Scones

Ingredients:

½ Cup Non-Dairy Milk

1 Teaspoon Apple Cider Vinegar

1 Tablespoon Flaxseed Meal Plus 3 Tablespoons Warm Water

1 ½ Cups All-Purpose Flour

2/3 Cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour

2 ¼ Teaspoon Baking Powder

¼ Teaspoon Baking Soda

¼ Teaspoon Sea Salt

½ Teaspoon Cinnamon

4 Tablespoons Margarine

¼ Cup Dried Cranberries

¼ Cup Pumpkin Puree

¼ Cup Plus 1 Tablespoon Brown Sugar

2 Teaspoons Orange Zest

Orange Drizzle:

1/2 Cup Powdered Sugar

2 Tablespoons Fresh Orange Juice

 

Preheat oven to 375 ͦ F and lightly grease or line with parchment paper a baking sheet.

Mix together the non-dairy milk and vinegar and set aside to curdle. Combine the flaxseed meal and water in a small bowl and mix until frothy. Set aside to thicken, about 10 minutes.

In a large bowl, mix together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, sea salt and cinnamon. Cut in the margarine using a pastry blender or two forks until the flour mixture looks crumbly. Add in cranberries and set aside.

Whisk together the pumpkin puree, non-dairy milk mixture, brown sugar, flaxseed meal mixture and orange zest until well combined.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and using a fork combine the ingredients just until the dry ingredients have become wet. Form the dough into a ball and transfer to the prepared baking sheet. With lightly floured hands press down on the dough until a circle is formed and cut the dough into 8 wedges, but do not separate them.

Bake for 20 to 22 minutes at 375 ͦ F until golden brown. While the scones are baking, prepare the orange drizzle. When the scones are done baking drizzle glaze over warm scones.

 

Nutrition Facts

 8 Servings
 

Amount Per Serving

 
  Calories 224.0
 
  Total Fat 3.4 g
 
      Saturated Fat 0.6 g
 
      Polyunsaturated Fat 1.2 g
 
      Monounsaturated Fat 0.9 g
 
  Cholesterol 0.0 mg
 
  Sodium 68.8 mg
 
  Potassium 109.3 mg
 
  Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
 
      Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
 
      Sugars 19.1 g
 
  Protein 4.4 g

 

16 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan MoFo

16 responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 20: Pumpkin Cranberry Scones

  1. They look so beautiful and I don’t even love pumpkin! I feel like VeganMoFo is really trying to get me to love pumpkin this year ;)

  2. Your scones look absolutely beautiful! And I love the idea of adding cranberries – wish I would have thought of that :)

  3. oh my… I love all these pumpkin recipes I am finding, and this one is definitely worth making <3 Your blog is awesome! I nominated you for the "Liebster Award" over at my blog: http://anchorsandfeathers.blogspot.com/2011/10/liebster-award.html

  4. Maria

    Yummy Pumpkin scones for my tummy!

  5. How is it Day 20 and I’m just NOW discovering the french fry conundrum?? I just bookmarked this recipe and I cannot wait to make them this weekend! xo

  6. Pingback: Pumpkin walnut chocolate chip vegan waffles

  7. So Nicole…I just made your famous scones (minus the pumpkin–wanted cranberry and orange). I had to de-glutenize these bad boys. I was nervous about how they would turn out. Gluten makes everything taste better. Am I stalling enough here? :) hehe. They were….AH. MAZING. Love love love this recipe–a definite keeper! So pat yourself on your own pat and give yourself a high five (no really, it’s fun…do it!) :) xoxo, Cara

    • Hahaha Cara, you crack me up! I’m so glad you liked them! I agree patting myself on the back and giving myself a high five is pretty fun :) Thank you so much for trying my recipe.

  8. Pat yourself on your back, not pat. haha! duh on me.

  9. Lindsay

    Quick question: the flax mixture is in place of an egg, right? I’m not vegan and I can’t eat flax. Will an egg be appropriate here? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

