Vegan MoFo Day 6: Pumpkin Occoles (Popsicles)

The weather here on the East Coast has been pretty unpredictable lately. After having a couple of weeks of rain and chilly temperatures the sun has finally returned and so has the warmth. That got me thinking about making something cold, but would also tie into the Autumn season. How about a Pumpkin Popsicle?  

You are probably thinking, “Hmmm…that is a strange name for a Popsicle”, but in our home this is a word (well not really a word) that we hear often. Besides having an addiction to French fries, our toddler daughter has a major obsession with Popsicles which she has adorably named “Occoles”. I try to make her homemade “Occoles” as much as possible because I don’t like all the preservatives and artificial dyes that the Popsicles at the grocery store are filled with. Also to my dismay I discovered that some Popsicles even contain gelatin! Huh? I think I will just stick to making my own.

Pumpkin Occoles (Popsicles)

Ingredients:

1 Cup Pumpkin Puree

12.3 Ounce Box of Extra-Firm Silken Tofu

¼ Cup Coconut Creamer

½ Cup Brown Sugar or 1/3 Cup Agave Nectar

1 Tablespoon Pure Vanilla Extract

1 Teaspoon Cinnamon

¼ Teaspoon Ground Ginger

¼ Teaspoon Ground Cardamom

1/8 Teaspoon Allspice

1/8 Teaspoon Ground Nutmeg

Pinch Ground Cloves

Place all ingredients into a food processor or blender and blend until smooth, scraping down the sides occasionally. Pour mixture into Popsicle molds and freeze.

Makes 8 “Occoles”.

24 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan MoFo

24 responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 6: Pumpkin Occoles (Popsicles)

  1. What a super cool idea! and yummy too <3 I'll definitely make those!!

  2. What an awesomely wonderful idea!

  3. Beautiful! I love the idea of fall popsicles. September-October is often the hottest stretch of the year here (though it’s been quite mild this October so far) so even though my brain is saying pumpkin, I’m sure my body would enjoy something cold sometimes too…

    • Thank you! That’s how I’m feeling also. I think my body is a little confused by the fluctuating temperatures, so I figured a nice, cold pumpkin treat would be yummy.

  4. Fantastic idea. One of my current obsessions right now is pumpkin. I’ve would have never thought of this. Can’t wait to make them!

  5. These look great! I never thought to add tofu to a popsicle recipe – genius!

    • Thank you! I actually came about this by accident. I had extra peanut butter mousse left over one day and decided to freeze it as popsicles and it tasted pretty good! I thought why not try pumpkin instead.

  6. Omg! This is an awesome idea. Extending the summer with flavors of fall!

  7. Hi Nicole,
    We definitely like homemade popsicles in our household. I make them often.
    I’ll have to give these a try. I’m sure my daughter will love them. Thanks for posting the recipe. :)

    • Hi Opal!

      Thank you for stopping by my blog! My daughter really enjoyed these and gobbled them right up. I hope your daughter enjoys them just as much.

  8. These looks great, and I have all that stuff, no problemmo! AND, I would eat a ton of Bassett’s pumpkin ice cream if it were vegan…

    What popsicle freezer thingies do you use? Yours came out so perfect and I want to try them but have no freezer thingies like those.

    P.S. You will have about 2/3 of a cup of pumpkin left in your can after using your 1 cup to make the popsicles. You can make my biscotti now :-)
    <3

    • OMG! I loved pumpkin ice cream when I wasn’t a vegan and a vegan version would be great! I found my popsicle molds at Target, but if you are unable to find them right now you could probably use Dixie cups with wooden popsicle sticks. Thank you so much for that info! I always wondered how much was left but was always too lazy to measure it. I love biscotti and will definitely be stopping by your blog to get the recipe. Thank you for stopping by mine!

      • Awwww :-)! Also, if you want a quick link to the biscotti without having to search for it, here it is:

        http://veganfazool.blogspot.com/2011/10/pumpkin-biscotti.html

        I just stuck the 1/3 cup scoop in the can and came out with two scoops, haha. That’s how I found out :-) I had used the first cup to make Isa’s pumpkin cupcakes!

        Looking forward to your upcoming posts! <3 VF

      • Thank you for the link for your recipe. I stopped by your blog yesterday and I do have to say that your pizza Fazool looks amazing! I have that recipe saved also. That’s a good idea, just dipping the measuring cup into the can :) I can’t wait to try both of these recipes and I look forward to your up coming posts also!

  9. Ben

    Nicole,
    You’ve done a great job with your blog from the layout and recipes to the presentation of the food in your pictures. Awesome job…keep it up!
    Love,
    Your Husband

  10. These sound and look amazing!

  11. Christine Oakes

    I love pumpkin, but I don’t like to use a lot of soy. Is there a good replacement for the soy that won’t alter the recipe too much? THanks!

    • I haven’t tried this, but maybe replacing the tofu with avocado or maybe even the cream from a can of full fat coconut milk in order to give the creaminess the tofu lends to the popsicles. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

